Monday, April 12, 2010

Emergency Support Functions

It is important that the basic arrangement of the ESFs be the base model for conops planning at all levels of government, whether or not guidance exists to incorportate this system. Without it those trying to accomplish various objectives will not be able to understand where the shortfalls are occurring and where systems have failed to provide adequate resources. It is important that each ESF be prepared to not only pull its load but support other ESFs. That cross support capability has yet to be built IMO!

The current ESFs are as follows:

ESFs and Corresponding Federal Department or Agency
ESF ESF Coordinator (C)/Primary Agency (P)
ESF-1 Transportation Department of Transportation (C/P)
ESF-2 Communication DHS/National Communications System (C/P)
ESF-3 Public Works and Engineering Department of Defense/U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (C/P)
ESF-4 Firefighting Department of Agriculture/Forest Service (C/P)
ESF-5 Emergency Management DHS/FEMA (C/P)
ESF-6 Mass Care DHS/FEMA (C/P)
ESF-7 Logistics
General Services Administration (C/P)
ESF-8 Public Health Department of Health and Human Services (C/P)
ESF-9 Search and Rescue
Department of Defense (P)
DHS/U.S. Coast Guard (P)
Department of Interior (P)
ESF-10 Oil and Hazardous Materials
Environmental Protection Agency (C/P)
DHS/U.S. Coast Guard (P)
ESF-11 Agriculture and Natural
Department of Agriculture (C/P)
Department of Interior (P)
ESF-12 Energy Department of Energy (C/P)
ESF-13 Public Safety and Security Department of Justice (C/P)
ESF-14 Long-Term Community
Department of Agriculture (P)
Department of Housing and Urban Development (P)
Small Business Administration (P)
ESF-15 External Affairs